Alzheimer’s Disease – Reaching Out to the Professionals

What a week it’s been.  I feel like a student again and I don’t know whether I’m passing or failing the class but I’m doing the best I know how.

Two out of the last four days were spent trying to keep the peace at Mom and Dad’s house and making phone call after phone call to the “experts”.  If you’re dealing with Alzheimer’s and haven’t visited the Alzheimer’s Association web page, I strongly encourage it.  Then, call their hot line (1.800.272.3900) and talk to a Care Consultant.  These folks are absolutely awesome.

I’ve learned so much this week about the resources available to help us all deal with this disease.  The Alzheimer’s Association recommended I speak with an Elder Law attorney regarding estate planning to ensure that Mom and Dad’s finances will sustain the care they will need.  They also referred me to the Area on Aging in my locale.  This group may be able to help with resources for interim solutions until we get Mom and Dad into Memory Care/Assisted Living environment.  It’s all a bit overwhelming but thank goodness for these agencies and their dedicated volunteers.

Tomorrow my Mom and Dad will celebrate their 63rd wedding anniversary.  At least I hope it will be a celebration and not another meltdown.  This will be the last celebration in the home they have loved and shared for over 60 years.  It will be a bittersweet day but because of the support I’ve received from the professionals this week, I am better prepared to handle it.  Reach out – if you haven’t already.  No one can do this alone.

Leave a comment

